Skip Navigation and Go To Content

Chemical Safety Committee


The Committee reports to the UTHealth Houston Executive Vice President and Chief Academic Officer on matters related to the use of chemicals that may be hazardous in the research, clinical and educational activities of UTHealth Houston. Hazardous chemicals are defined as substances which are potential physical or health hazards by exhibiting harmful characteristics such as toxicity, reactivity or flammability. The Office of Environmental Health and Safety administratively coordinates and manages the Chemical Committee. Specific charges to the Committee include the following:

  • To recommend to the EVP/CAO policies and procedures to ensure the health and safety of all individuals within UTHealth Houston.

  • To recommend to the EVP/CAO policies and procedures to ensure UTHealth Houston's compliance with all federal, state and local statutes, regulations, procedures and principles relating to the purchase, storage, use and disposal of hazardous chemicals used in UTHealth Houston's research, clinical and educational programs.

  • To provide support and consultation regarding DEA registration, including the storage and use of controlled substances, in both the research and clinical settings at UTHealth Houston.
  • To review risk assessments and recommend appropriate controls for investigators, their laboratories and their programs for work with hazardous chemicals. Designated high-risk activities may not proceed without the written consent of the Committee.

  • To recommend to the EVP/CAO the need for general and specific training programs for research, clinical and teaching activities dealing with hazardous chemicals, and to review the appropriateness and effectiveness of such training programs.

  • To submit reports, at least annually, to the EVP/CAO recommending measures to control potential chemical hazards and to ensure compliance with all applicable regulations.

Committee Composition


Designated by the President on recommendation from the Executive Vice President and Chief Academic Officer (EVP/CAO) from the membership. 


 All members must have appropriate experience and an active research program involving the use of chemicals. The membership shall include at least:

  • At least one faculty representative from the Cizik School of Nursing, School of Public Health and School of Dentistry

  • Four faculty representatives from the McGovern Medical School
  • One student member
  • Additional faculty members may be appointed as deemed necessary to provide adequate expertise and size as dictated by the issues and work encountered and as recommended by the Committee. Such members shall be selected to reflect the degree of research activity involving potential chemical hazards at various UTHealth Schools, departments and units.

Ex Officio Membership (without vote)

Executive Vice President/Chief Academic Officer
Director, Environmental Health and Safety 
Safety Manager, Chemical Safety Program
Safety Manager, Environmental Protection Program
Additional faculty members providing invaluable expertise

Terms of Membership: Staggered three-year terms with one term expiring each year.

2022-2023 Membership Roster

Chair: Dr. Donald Molony, Faculty, McGovern Medical School
Vice Chair:  Vacant

Terms Expire August 31, 2023

Dr. Ransome van der Hoeven, School of Dentistry
Dr. Donald Molony, Faculty, McGovern Medical School
Dr. Thomas Gomez, Animal Care
Dr. Geraldine L Wood, Faculty, School of Nursing
Dr. Yi-Ping Li, Faculty, McGovern Medical School

Terms Expire August 31, 2024

Dr. Jooyeon Hwang, Faculty, School of Public Health
Dr. Yanna Cao, Faculty, McGovern Medical School
Shafali Patel, Student, School of Public Health

Terms Expire August 31, 2025

Dr. Victor Lopez Del Amo, Faculty, School of Public Health
Dr. Lissette Cruz, School of Dentistry
Dr. Anjali Chauhan, Faculty, McGovern Medical School
Dr. Lovepreet Mann, Faculty, McGovern Medical School

Ex Officio Members

Dr. Kevin Morano, Executive Vice President / Chief Academic Officer
Dr. Robert Emery, Vice President for Safety, Health, Environment & Risk Management
Dr. Scott Patlovich, Director, Environmental Health & Safety
Dr. William Bryan, Safety Manager, Chemical Safety Program
Mr. Alan Lucas, Safety Manager, Environmental Protection Program

Useful Links

Submitting an application (Link)
Chemical Safety Hygiene Plan (PDF)

Meeting Location

CYF Training Room

Meeting Frequency

Alternating months

Meeting Agenda

Contact EH&S at 713 500 8100 for information on current meeting agenda items

Meeting minutes

Some topics discussed within university health science center safety committees meet the definition of a “medical committee” as defined under the Texas Health and Safety Code Title 2, Subtitle H Chapter 161, Subchapter D Sec. 161.031, and as such, the meeting minutes are confidential (Sec. 161.032).